Random Posts

header ads

Emeka Ozoani, Adegboruwa, 13 Professors, 65 Others Shotlist For SAN Award

By Yetunde Ayobami Ojo

The Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee has shortlisted names of 80 lawyers it is considering for the conferment of the award of Senior Advocate of Nigeria for this year.

Among the 80 shortlisted lawyers was Lagos-based human rights crusader, Mr Emeka Onyemaechi Ozoani, Mr Ebun-Olu Adegboruwa, and 13 professors among who were are being considered for confernment of the rank of Senior Advocates of Nigeria 2019.

The duo (Ozoani and Adegboruwa) were among the 64 'Advocate category' while 13 professors are among B. 'Academic Category'.

The professors are, Joseph Abugu, Damilola Olawuyi, Olaide Gbadamosi, Mamman Lawan, Uchefula Chukwumaeze, Oludayo Amokaye, Alphonsus Alubo, Rasheed Ijaodola, Sampson Erugo, Edward Oyewo, Oghenemaro Emiri, Bankole Akintoyesodipo and Afeisimi Badaiki

The Legal Practitioners' Privileges Committee in Monday newspaper advertorial signed by the LPPC Secretary/Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, Hadizatu Mustapha shortlisted the names of the candidates pursuant to paragraph 12 (2) and 20 of the Legal Practitioners' Privileges Committee Guidelines 2018.

The body said the 80 shortlisted lawyers had scaled through the first and second advocates’ filtration, academic pre-qualification exercise and the appeal process, preparatory to the award of SAN for the year 2019.

It further read that the general public was at liberty to comment on the integrity and reputatio of the shortlisted candidates.“Any complaint(s) presented to the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee must be accompanied with verifying affidavit deposed to before a court of record in Nigeria.

“10 copies of such comments or complaints must be submitted at the office of the Secretary, Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee, at the Supreme Court of Nigeria Complex, Abuja, not later than 4:00 p.m. on Monday, 17th June, 2019 ."

Post a Comment