Random Posts

header ads

With 79 to 28 Votes, Ahmed Lawan is the 9th Senate President As Gbajabiamila Becomes Speaker

   Omo-Agege is Deputy senate President
The presidency has its way
The 9th Senate has been inaugurated as Ahmed Lawan becomes the Senate President.

Lawal was declared winner of the contest which was between him and Senators Ali Ndume by the clerk of the National Assembly after securing 79 vote cast of senators-elect out of the 107 present, while Ndume got 28.

Lawal hails from Yobe State and represents Yobe North in the senate.

Unlike in the 8th senate where the choice of the ruling party, the All Progressives Congress (APC) of who becomes the Senate President Did not come through, this the around, the party’s choice emerged.

Ndume has since congratulated Lawal with an handshake.
Meanwhile, Ovie Omo-Agege has emerged the Deputy Senate President after beating senator Ike Ekweremadu  who got 39 votes

Post a Comment